Shopping cart

Your cart is currently empty

Paula Wallace

Paula Wallace is president and founder of the Savannah College of Art and Design, a private, nonprofit, accredited institution recognized as The University for Creative Careers. Established in 1978, SCAD offers more than 100 highly ranked academic degree programs at locations in Atlanta and Savannah, Georgia; Hong Kong; and Lacoste, France, as well as an award-winning eLearning program. Before her appointment as president in 2000, Wallace served as the university’s academic dean and provost. Under her leadership, SCAD has grown to more than 55,000 alumni and students and has gained international renown as a preeminent source of knowledge and professional preparation in every discipline it offers.

Wallace created and champions many of the university’s most popular annual events, including the celebrated SCAD Savannah Film Festival, as well as SCAD AnimationFest, SCAD aTVfest, SCAD deFINE ART, SCAD GamingFest, the SCAD Sidewalk Arts Festival and SCADstyle. Wallace established the SCAD Museum of Art in Savannah, SCAD FASH Museum of Fashion + Film in Atlanta, and various galleries and other initiatives designed to present to the world the innovative work of students and alumni.

In addition to her memoir The Bee and the Acorn, Wallace is the author of several children’s books and two interior design titles, Perfect Porches: Designing Welcoming Spaces for Outdoor Living and A House in the South: Old-Fashioned Graciousness of New-Fashioned Times.

As SCAD grows, Wallace continues to advance the university’s legacy of historic preservation, which has been recognized with prestigious awards from the American Institute of Architects, the American Society of Interior Designers, the International Coalition of Art Deco Societies, the National Trust for Historic Preservation and UNESCO. Wallace is an honorary member of the AIA, a Senior Fellow of the Design Futures Council, and winner of the 2018 Southeast EMMY President’s Award, 2018 WIFTA Creative Excellence Award, 2017 ASID Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award, 2016 Arthur Ross Award for Stewardship, 2016 Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award and 2016 Roger Milliken Honorary AIA Legacy Award.

0 products

No products found